Proposal for New Criteria for Accreditation with Commendation

We are pleased to present the Proposal for a Menu of New Criteria for Accreditation with Commendation. Thank you for your participation in our feedback survey. We look forward to our continued engagement.

Ongoing Engagement

NEW! The ACCME has published a summary of the feedback we received via the online survey we conducted in spring 2014. We received approximately 250 responses. The responses demonstrated the CME community support’s for the proposed criteria and the menu approach. Of the provider respondents, about 75% said that the proposed menu would make Accreditation with Commendation feasible for them. Read the summary.

The ACCME is continuing to engage with the CME community to gather qualitative feedback about the proposed criteria. At face-to-face events, the ACCME is discussing the following questions with stakeholders:

  • How many of the proposed criteria should be required to demonstrate compliance for Accreditation with Commendation?
  • How should the menu be structured? Choose a certain number of criteria from each group? Should any of the proposed Criteria be required for providers seeking commendation?
  • How should the standard for awarding compliance be set? Based on activities? Learners? Overall program? Some other measure? How much is enough?

The ACCME Board of Directors will review the feedback before taking formal action. If and when the Board of Directors decides to adopt new commendation criteria, the ACCME would then gather further responses from the stakeholder community through a call for public comment, in accordance with the ACCME Rule-Making Policy, before making any final decision to implement the proposal.

Learn about the Proposal

Responding to Stakeholder Feedback

The Proposal for a Menu of New Criteria for Accreditation with Commendation incorporates ideas gathered from the CME community and other stakeholders over the past few years, as well as feedback from the ACCME Board of Directors and member organizations.

Based on this feedback, the ACCME has identified a greater range of attributes as commendable practices. The new criteria are designed to reflect the valuable work CME providers may already be doing—in areas such as the integration of health data, interprofessional collaborative practice, and individualized learning activities. The proposal incorporates stakeholder requests for criteria that reward higher levels of outcomes measurement and ensure organizational competence and leadership.

A Menu of Options

In response to stakeholder ideas, the ACCME has created a menu of options that would give accredited CME providers the opportunity to choose the specific criteria that are appropriate for their organization. The purpose of the menu structure is to reflect the strength of the diverse community of CME providers, offer more flexibility, and promote innovation and creativity. The proposed menu is designed to ensure that all CME provider types would have the ability to achieve Accreditation with Commendation.

Current Criteria Remain in Place

Please note that the current Criteria 16–22 remain in place and you should continue to comply with them to achieve Accreditation with Commendation. If and when we formally adopt changes, we will develop a transition plan and share that plan with you.

If you have questions, please contact