Accreditation Council for CME Announces Elections to Board of Directors

James Burke, MD, and Carlyle Chan, MD, Elected ACCME Chair and Vice-Chair
Chicago, IL
December 18, 2012

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) announces that James Burke, MD, and Carlyle Chan, MD, were elected 2013 Chair and Vice-Chair of the ACCME at the annual meeting of its Board of Directors, held November 29-30, 2012, in Chicago.

James Burke, MD, is Chief Physician Executive at Scottsdale Healthcare in Scottsdale, AZ, where he oversees quality, research, patient safety, physician alignment, and medical informatics for the three-hospital system. He has served on the ACCME’s Compensation Committee, Finance Committee, Nominating Committee, and Executive Committee, as well as chairing the Physician’s Recognition Award (PRA) and Activity Task Force.

Dr. Burke also serves on the American Hospital Association’s Committee on Clinical Leadership.

Carlyle H. Chan, MD, is a Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and in the Institute for Health and Society (Bioethics and Medical Humanities) at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee. He has directed his department’s CME programs for the past 27 years while having chaired the medical school’s CME Committee for more than a decade. He has served on the ACCME’s Decision Committee and Executive Committee.

Dr. Chan also serves on the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Psychiatry Residency Review Committee.

New Board Members

The ACCME also announces the election of the following Board members.

  • Shannon K. Bolon, MD, MPH, Primary Care Medical Education Branch Chief, Health Resources and Services Administration, Rockville, MD
  • Galicano F. Inguito, Jr., MD, MBA, Associate Residency Program Director, Family Practice Residency Program, St. Francis Hospital, Wilmington, DE
  • Victor I. Reus, MD, Professor in Residence, Department of Psychiatry, University of California, San Francisco
  • Michael Romano, MD, MHA, Vice-President of Medical Affairs, Jennie Edmundson Memorial Hospital, Council Bluffs, IA
  • David A. Swankin, JD, President and CEO, Citizen Advocacy Center, Washington, DC


Media inquiries
Tamar Hosansky

Other inquiries



The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting US institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop, and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are approximately 2,000 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 23 million health care practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.

For more information, visit