2013 ACCME State/Territory Medical Society Conference Focuses on CME Accreditation Leadership

January 23, 2014
Posted by: 
Tamar Hosansky

State Medical Society Accreditors Discuss CME Leadership

The 2013 ACCME State/Territory Medical Society Conference, held December 11–12 in Chicago, drew record attendance—60 participants from 41 ACCME Recognized Accreditors. The conference was the culmination of a year of engagement and collaboration between the ACCME and Recognized Accreditors (state/territory medical societies recognized by the ACCME as accreditors of intrastate CME providers).

The conference theme was “Reflecting on Leadership and Performance in the National CME System.” Participants discussed how accredited CME at the state level is a force for changing practice and improving health. They explored how the national CME system has demonstrated leadership through its support of public health initiatives and has contributed to advancing interprofessional education through the Joint Accreditation™ program.

Guest speaker Ann C. Beal, MD, MPH, Deputy Executive Director and Chief Officer for Engagement, Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI), explained how her organization helps people make informed healthcare decisions and improves healthcare delivery and outcomes. She discussed the opportunities for collaboration between accredited CME and PCORI.

Several sessions focused on Maintenance of Recognition and the Markers of Equivalency. The ACCME shared detailed data that has been gathered through the Maintenance of Recognition process about the Recognized Accreditors’ processes and decision-making. The ACCME Board of Directors adopted Maintenance of Recognition in 2011 in order to improve the quality, value, and efficiency of the recognition process and to enable the ACCME and Recognized Accreditors to identify areas for improvement on an ongoing basis.

The conference included the presentation of the 2013 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System, awarded to K.M. Tan, MD. The award recognizes Dr. Tan for his contributions and commitment to advancing community-based CME programs and the intrastate accreditation system.


Participants at the 2013 ACCME State/Territory Medical Society Conference discussed the leadership role of accredited CME.  Photo 1, from left:  Michael Madura, MD, Co-Chair, Michigan State Medical Society Committee on CME Accreditation; Mary Armstrong, MD, Volunteer, Mississippi State Medical Association; Timothy W. Holder, MD, FAAFP, Chair of Oklahoma State Medical Association ARC; Sandy Deeba, CME Manager, Oklahoma State Medical Association.  Photo 2:  Adela Valdez, MD, member, ACCME Committee for Review and Recognition  Photo 3: Anne C. Beal, MD, MPH, Deputy Executive Director and Chief Officer for Engagement, Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI).  Photo 4, from left:  Donnie Batie, MD, Vice-Chair, Louisiana State Medical Society CME Accreditation Committee; and Jamie Olson, CME Manager, Minnesota Medical Association.