Accreditation Council for CME Announces Election of 2018 Chair, Vice Chair, and Treasurer of Board of Directors

William F. Rayburn, MD, MBA, Elected Chair; Hal B. Jenson, MD, MBA, Elected Vice Chair; Gary L. Filerman, MHA, PhD, Elected Treasurer

Chicago, IL

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) announces that William F. Rayburn, MD, MBA, was elected Chair; Hal B. Jenson, MD, MBA, was elected Vice Chair; and Gary L. Filerman, MHA, PhD, was elected Treasurer of the ACCME at a meeting of its Board of Directors, held July 20 and 21 in Chicago.

Dr. Rayburn is a Distinguished Professor, Associate Dean of Continuing Medical Education and Professional Development, and Emeritus Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of New Mexico. As a maternal-fetal medicine specialist, he is clinically active with patients having complicated pregnancies. Dr. Rayburn is the recipient of several teaching awards and has been continuously funded for his research. His more than 650 peer-reviewed journal articles and abstracts presented at national scientific meetings deal with high-risk pregnancy topics, physician workforce issues, and evaluative education trials. His most recent project involves editing a forthcoming professional reference book, Continuing Professional Development in Medicine and Health Care: Better Education, Improved Care, Best Outcomes.

Dr. Jenson is Founding Dean of Western Michigan University Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine. Dr. Jenson’s clinical specialty is pediatric infectious diseases and his research area is molecular virology and epidemiology of Epstein-Barr virus. Dr. Jenson completed his undergraduate studies at Brigham Young University and his medical degree at George Washington University School of Medicine, followed by pediatric residency at Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital at Case Western University and a fellowship in pediatric infectious diseases and epidemiology at Yale University School of Medicine. He was a Visiting Fellow in Molecular Biology in 1984 at the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Cambridge, United Kingdom; received the Outstanding Young Investigator Award from the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society in 1990; authored more than 250 papers, commentaries, and book chapters; and served as an editor of the Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. In 2003, he graduated with an MBA from the University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Jenson formerly has been Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology and Chief of Pediatric Infectious Diseases at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; Professor and Chair of the Department of Pediatrics and Director of the Center for Pediatric Research at Eastern Virginia Medical School and Children’s Hospital of The King’s Daughters; Chief Academic Officer at Baystate Medical Center; and Professor of Pediatrics and Dean of the Western Campus of Tufts University School of Medicine. He has been on the Board of Directors, including Chair, of the National Resident Matching Program; Inaugural Chair of the Integrating Quality Committee of the Association of American Medical Colleges; and has served as an Examiner for the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Dr. Filerman has been involved in global efforts to improve the performance of health services through professionalism in management. His efforts have included leading the Association of University Programs in Health Administration and founding the Journal of Health Administration Education, the Accrediting Commission on Health Administration Education, and the Health Administration Press. He has served on the boards of the Accrediting Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, Council of Specialized Accrediting Agencies, and American Council of Education Commission on Educational Credit and Credentials. Dr. Filerman was Professor of International Health, Professor and Chairman of the Georgetown Department of Health Systems Administration, and Professor and Interim Chairman of the George Washington Department of Health Services Management and Policy. He has been a consultant to several foundations, the World Bank, the International Finance Corporation, Joint Commission International, and to universities and ministries in 39 countries. The endowed Filerman Prize is the highest recognition of leadership in health administration education.

Media inquiries

Tamar Hosansky

Other inquiries


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago, responsible for accrediting institutions that offer continuing medical education (CME) and for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors of local CME programs.

The ACCME sets standards for CME that reflect the values of the educator community and aim to accelerate learning, inspire change, and champion improvement in healthcare. These standards ensure that accredited CME is designed to be relevant to clinicians’ needs, evidence-based, evaluated for its effectiveness, and independent of commercial influence. Through participation in accredited CME, clinicians and teams drive improvement in their practice and optimize the care, health, and wellness of their patients.

Accredited CME facilitates engagement with physicians and healthcare teams where they live, learn, and work. There are approximately 1,800 accredited CME providers within the ACCME System, across the country and internationally, representing a range of organizations including medical schools, hospitals/health systems, government/military agencies, specialty societies, and insurance/managed-care companies. Accredited providers offer about 159,000 activities each year, comprising more than one million hours of instruction and including more than 27 million interactions with physicians and other healthcare professionals. For more information, visit You can also follow the ACCME on Twitter,LinkedIn, and Facebook.