Henry Tulgan, MD, FACP, and Indiana State Medical Association Receive 2015 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards

ACCME Award Honors State Medical Society Staff and Volunteers for Their Contributions and Commitment to the Intrastate Continuing Medical Education Accreditation System

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2015 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award. Given in two categories, this award recognizes state medical societies, their staff, and volunteers for their contributions and commitment to advancing community-based continuing medical education (CME) programs and the intrastate accreditation system. The recipients will be given their awards during a ceremony at the ACCME State/Territory Medical Society Conference, to be held December 9–10, 2015, in Chicago.

2015 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System:

Henry Tulgan, MD, FACP

2015 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Outstanding Collaboration between
Accreditors and Providers:

Indiana State Medical Association

Henry Tulgan, MD, FACP

Henry Tulgan, MD, FACP, was nominated for the award by the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS). Dr. Tulgan has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to CME for more than 50 years. A member of MMS for more than 40 years, Dr. Tulgan has been a major supporter and advocate for the MMS Recognized Accreditor program. He has served for 40 years as a surveyor for MMS, participating in more than 100 surveys. He was the founding chairman of the MMS Committee on Sponsored Programs from 1997–2006 and continues to volunteer on the committee. He was Vice Chair of the Committee on Accreditation Review in 2014, and is currently a member; he  has served multiple terms on the MMS Committee on Medical Education.

Dr. Tulgan is Director of Continuing Medical Education/Chief Quality Officer at Baystate Wing Hospital, an MMS-accredited provider, and is former Director of Medical Education/Designated Institutional Official at Berkshire Medical Center, an MMS-accredited provider that received Accreditation with Commendation in 2015. He is Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, as well as a member of its Committee on CME. He has acted as a mentor to physicians leading change through education and made presentations at national conferences about intrastate CME.

Dr. Tulgan has served CME on the national level as well as the state level. He is currently an ACCME surveyor, and was a member of the ACCME Accreditation Review Committee from 2001–2006, serving as Vice Chair in 2006.

My deepest appreciation and thanks to MMS for having been nominated for this award.  It has been a privilege to work with the Society and in CME for more than 40 years, and I look forward to continued service.”—Henry Tulgan, MD, FACP, Director of Continuing Medical Education/Chief Quality Officer, Baystate Wing Hospital

“Dr. Tulgan has been a long-standing MMS member and major contributor to graduate and continuing medical education. His ongoing mentoring of directors of medical education throughout the state, his passion for quality continuing medical education, and his leadership role at the MMS Recognized Accreditor program as a Committee on Accreditation member, former Vice Chair, and surveyor are instrumental to the success and effectiveness of the accreditation system at MMS. The Massachusetts Medical Society is honored that the ACCME has selected Dr. Tulgan to receive the 2015 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award as we are honored that he has dedicated his time and expertise to our statewide accreditation system. Our very best wishes are with him upon receipt of this award.”—Dennis M. Dimitri, MD, FAAFP, President, Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS)

“We honor Dr. Tulgan for his decades-long commitment to advancing high-quality CME and healthcare improvement throughout Massachusetts and across the US. Dr. Tulgan’s dedication demonstrates the power of education to drive quality in our medical profession and in healthcare. The communities of accreditors, CME providers, and physician learners rely on the generosity, expertise, and engagement of volunteers like Dr. Tulgan, and we are fortunate to have benefited from his service for 50 years and we look forward to continuing to benefit from his valuable contributions in the future.”—Graham McMahon, MD, MMSc, President and CEO, Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®)

Indiana State Medical Association

The Indiana State Medical Association (ISMA) demonstrated leadership and initiative by creating ShapeUpCME, an ongoing, innovative outreach project that identifies challenges faced by ISMA-accredited CME providers and works collaboratively with them to develop solutions. Through ShapeUpCME, ISMA and its community of accredited CME providers identify best practices for compliance with accreditation requirements, and develop resources and tools to assist providers in fulfilling accreditation expectations. ShapeUpCME nurtures professional development, expertise, collegiality, and a culture of improvement among CME providers—with the goal of facilitating the delivery of high-quality education for the Indiana community of healthcare professionals.

“We are pleased and honored that the ACCME has chosen to recognize ShapeUpCME. At the ISMA, we take pride in the efforts and dedication of our CME physician leaders, volunteers, and staff, and we are gratified to accept the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award as an acknowledgement of exemplary performance by so many individuals across our state.”—Heidi M. Dunniway, MD, President, Indiana State Medical Association (ISMA)

“We celebrate ISMA for achieving an exemplary relationship with its accredited CME providers. At the ACCME, we recognize that local CME can be especially effective and nimble in responding to local healthcare needs and we are committed to sustaining a robust state accreditation system. We congratulate ISMA on its achievements and we thank the ISMA CME providers for the work they are doing every day to make a difference and improve the health of their communities.”—Graham McMahon, MD, MMSc, President and CEO, Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®)

Media inquiries

Tamar Hosansky

Other inquiries



The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting institutions that offer continuing medical education (CME) through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop, and promote standards for quality CME that improves healthcare for patients and their communities. There are approximately 1,900 accredited CME providers within the ACCME System that offer more than 147,000 activities each year, comprising more than one million hours of instruction and including more than 25 million interactions with physicians and other healthcare professionals.

The ACCME's member organizations—which represent the profession of medicine and include physician licensing and credentialing bodies—are the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies, and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.

For more information, visit www.accme.org.