SSM DePaul Health Center Hosts Accreditation Council for CME Leadership Forum

Program brings together regional health care education leaders to highlight best practices for improving physician performance and patient care
Chicago and St. Louis
August 31, 2010

The SSM DePaul Health Center is hosting the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) "2010 ACCME Regional Forum:  Building Leadership, Building Value" on August 31 from 1:30 – 5:30 p.m. The forum is being produced in collaboration with the Missouri State Medical Association.

"Building Leadership, Building Value" will bring together continuing medical education (CME) professionals from across the region to share strategies for producing community-based CME programs that contribute to health care safety and quality initiatives.

Pat Komoroski, SSM DePaul Health Center President, will give the opening remarks. “We at SSM DePaul value the continuing education of our staff and so we are honored to host the Missouri forum,” she said."Building Leadership, Building Value" will draw more than 50 continuing medical education leaders from Missouri, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, North Carolina, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Utah, Washington State and Wisconsin. It is one of four regional forums the ACCME is offering across the country in 2010.

Accredited continuing medical education keeps physicians and other health care professionals abreast of the latest medical advances, and provides them with strategies to effectively address nationally-recognized health care priorities and improve the quality and safety of patient care.

The ACCME, the national accrediting body for organizations that produce continuing medical education, designates state and territory medical societies that meet its high standards as accreditors of local CME programs. There are approximately 1,500 CME providers accredited by ACCME-Recognized state or territory medical societies. Each year, these providers offer approximately 50,000 CME activities in communities throughout the United States, drawing more than four million health care practitioner participants.

"The ACCME is producing the Missouri and other 2010 Regional Forums in appreciation and support of state medical societies and state-accredited providers’ commitment to advancing community-based CME that improves physicians’ competence, performance and patient outcomes," said Murray Kopelow, MD, ACCME Chief Executive. "As the national standard bearer, the ACCME accreditation system ensures that continuing medical education at the national and state levels provides physicians and health care teams with practice-based learning and change opportunities, in support of closing the quality gap in U.S. health care."

The ACCME planned the forums with input from an advisory committee of state medical society CME leaders from around the nation, including Benita Stennis, Director of Scientific Affairs, Missouri State Medical Association.

Download the agenda and other information or visit 


The SSM DePaul Health Center
SSM DePaul Health Center is a 478-bed, full-service hospital and the only Level II Trauma Center in North St. Louis County. SSM DePaul offers a wide range of comprehensive medical care, with all private rooms in a convenient, central location at the busy intersection of I-270 and I-70. SSM DePaul provides the most advanced technology and procedures available including minimally invasive heart, spine, knee, hip and weight loss surgery. For more information about DePaul Health Center, please visit

SSM DePaul Health Center

Heather Kemper



The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education 
The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education is a not-for-profit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting U.S. institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are currently approximately 2,200 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 17 million health care practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the U.S. Inc.

For more information, visit


Contact Info: