Accreditation Council for CME Awards Substantial Equivalency Status to Oman Medical Specialty Board

Oman Medical Specialty Board Becomes the First Accreditation System Outside of North America to Receive Substantial Equivalency Status
Chicago, IL
August 28, 2014

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is pleased to announce that it has designated the Oman Medical Specialty Board as part of the Ministry of Health of the Sultanate of Oman (OMSB/MOH) as an accreditor that is substantially equivalent to the ACCME. The OMSB/MOH is the first accreditation system outside North America to receive this status from the ACCME.

To achieve this designation, the OMSB/MOH first successfully completed an eligibility review process in 2013. The OMSB/MOH then underwent a rigorous evaluation process, including a self-study and on-site survey in 2014. The OMSB/MOH demonstrated that its accreditation standards and its accreditation process for continuing professional development (CPD) are substantially equivalent to the ACCME. The OMSB/MOH standards require that CPD activities are based on healthcare professionals’ needs, presented in a format appropriate to the expected results, and evaluated for their effectiveness in meeting objectives. The OMSB/MOH requires that activities meet standards of scientific integrity, are free of commercial bias, and are independent of commercial interests, as defined by the ACCME. The OMSB/MOH has a robust accreditation activity and provider review process that ensures compliance with its requirements. The substantial equivalency designation extends through 2018.

International CPD Collaboration

The substantial equivalency framework was developed in 2002 by the ACCME and the Committee for the Accreditation of Continuing Medical Education of the Association of Canadian Medical Colleges. It defines substantial equivalency as a relationship between accreditors based on shared principles and values, while recognizing and accepting differences.

Two organizations have previously been designated as substantially equivalent to the ACCME: The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada Committee on Accreditation of Continuing Medical Education.

The ACCME developed the substantial equivalency process, in collaboration with its colleague accreditor in Canada, as part of its long-standing commitment to engagement and collaboration with the global CME community. Throughout the years, the ACCME has supported CME initiatives in a wide range of countries, including China, France, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Korea, New Zealand, Oman, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, the Sudan, and the United Arab Emirates.

"The ACCME commends the Oman Medical Specialty Board of the Ministry of Health of the Sultanate of Oman (OMSB/MOH) for this achievement. The OMSB/MOH has demonstrated its commitment to providing continuing professional development activities for its healthcare professionals that are relevant, practice-based, independent, and based on valid content. The OMSB/MOH’s accreditation standards are designed to support healthcare quality improvement for its nation’s people. The substantial equivalency framework was created to foster international collaboration among CPD accreditors. The OMSB/MOH’s achievement is evidence that the principles and values that are the foundation for a robust, effective CPD accreditation system can be shared across national boundaries while retaining and respecting differences.”—Murray Kopelow, MD, President and CEO, ACCME


Media inquiries

Tamar Hosansky



Other inquiries



The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop, and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves healthcare for patients and their communities. There are approximately 2,000 accredited CME providers within the ACCME accreditation system, whose activities educate more than 24 million healthcare practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations, which represent the profession of medicine and include physician licensing and credentialing bodies, are the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.

For more information, visit