Accreditation Council for CME Announces Timothy Holder, MD, as Recipient of the 2011 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award

ACCME award honors state medical society staff and volunteers
Chicago, Illinois
August 11, 2011

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is proud to announce that the 2011 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System has been awarded to Timothy Holder, MD.

The award recognizes Dr. Holder for his contributions and commitment to advancing community-based continuing medical education (CME) programs and the intrastate accreditation system. Dr. Holder was nominated for the award by the Oklahoma State Medical Association (OSMA) where he has served as chair of the OMSA Accreditation Review Committee since 2005, and has been a member of the Committee since 1997. He has served on the ACCME Board of Directors since 2009; currently serving as Vice-Chair of the Board's Quality Improvement Committee. He has been a member of the ACCME Committee for Review and Recognition since 2006, currently serving as co-chair, and has also volunteered as an ACCME recognition surveyor and an OSMA accreditation surveyor.

Among his many achievements, Dr. Holder initiated a statewide, collaborative endeavor to address important Oklahoma health issues and improve patient care through the application of the ACCME 2006 Accreditation Criteria. The collaborative effort included OSMA, its intrastate accredited providers, and other stakeholders such as the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, the Oklahoma Hospital Association, and the Oklahoma Commissioner of Health. 

Dr. Holder will receive his award during a presentation lunch at the ACCME State/Territory Medical Society Conference, scheduled for December 6-7, 2011, in Chicago.

"We honor Dr. Holder for his dedication to the intrastate accreditation system and to high-quality, community-based continuing medical education," said Murray Kopelow, MD, ACCME Chief Executive. "The intrastate accreditation system provides physicians across the country with access to locally-based continuing medical education that contributes to improving care for patients and their communities. The ACCME is committed to supporting a strong and vital intrastate accreditation system, and to recognizing the system's volunteers and staff for their extraordinary efforts."

For more information about the ACCME intrastate system, see the chapter "The Intrastate Accreditation System," in the new publication, The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education at Work: Accreditation, Recognition, Education, Operations, and Governance.

About the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards

The awards are named for Dr. Rutledge W. Howard, who worked with every state, the District of Columbia, and four territories to develop a system for accrediting intrastate CME providers. There are currently approximately 1,450 providers accredited by ACCME-recognized state or territory medical societies. Each year, these providers offer approximately 50,000 CME activities in communities across the country, drawing more than four million health care practitioner participants. The ACCME established the Dr. Rutledge W. Howard Awards to honor intrastate accreditors for their important role in the national accreditation system.

The ACCME initiated the Rutledge W. Howard, MD Awards in 1997. The criteria have evolved over time to reflect the state medical societies' changing role in the national CME enterprise.

The awards are given in two categories.

Award for Outstanding Collaboration Between Accreditors and Providers: This award honors an ACCME-Recognized Accreditor for achieving an exemplary working relationship with its providers by collaborating on projects, issues, or initiatives.
Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System: This award serves to recognize state staff or volunteers for their service to intrastate accreditation.

The ACCME issues a call for nominations each year.The winners are chosen by the ACCME Board of Directors, based on the applications and nominations received. Only one award is given in each category per year; there may not be an award given every year.

Previous Recipients of the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards

2010: James Liljestrand, MD, MPH, Massachusetts Medical Society (individual category)
            Pennsylvania Medical Society (accreditor category)
2007: Carol S. Havens, MD (individual category) 
           Oklahoma State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2006: Jane Phillip (individual category)
2005: Florida Medical Association (accreditor category)
2004: Dean Bordeaux, MD, MAEd (individual category)
           Louisiana State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2003: Richard Ashby, MD (individual category)
2002: Jeanette Harmon (individual category)
            Illinois State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2000: Texas Medical Association (accreditor category)
1999: Massachusetts Medical Society (organizational award)
           Minnesota Medical Association (organizational award)
1998: Washington State Medical Association (organizational award)
1997: Arizona Medical Association (organizational award)
           Medical & Chirurgical Faculty of State of Maryland (organizational award)
           Puerto Rico Medical Association (organizational award) 


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education is a not-for-profit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting U.S. institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop, and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are approximately 2,200 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 17 million health care practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the U.S. Inc.

For more information, visit


Contact Info: