Accreditation Council for CME Announces Recipients of Rutledge W. Howard, MD Awards

ACCME award honors state medical societies, their staff and volunteers for their contributions to community-based continuing medical education
Chicago, IL
December 21, 2010

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2010 Rutledge W. Howard, MD Awards. Given in two categories, these awards recognize state medical societies, their staff and volunteers for their contributions and commitment to advancing community-based continuing medical education (CME) programs and the intrastate accreditation system.

• The 2010 Rutledge W. Howard, MD Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System was awarded to James Liljestrand, MD, MPH, Massachusetts Medical Society.
• The 2010 Rutledge W. Howard, MD Award for Outstanding Collaboration between Accreditors and Providers was awarded to the Pennsylvania Medical Society.

James Liljestrand, MD, MPH, has dedicated more than 30 years to physician education and patient advocacy. His volunteer activities with the Massachusetts Medical Society include serving as Chair, Accreditation Review Committee; Chair and Vice-Chair, Medical Education Committee; and Chair, member and surveyor for the Committee on Accreditation Review. In addition, he has participated in a number of other MMS committees, boards and working groups, and has served as faculty and planning committee member for MMS-sponsored Directors of Medical Education conferences. He currently serves as Medical Director for Patient Safety with the Massachusetts Peer Review Organization (Masspro), the state's quality improvement organization, where he is also a member of the Committee on Medical Education.

The Pennsylvania Medical Society (PAMED) accredits 56 providers, supporting community-based CME in urban and rural parts of the state. PAMED provides exemplary support to its providers through education, consultation, assistance with the self-study/accreditation review process, communication, and advocacy. PAMED offers numerous resources, including networking and mentorship opportunities, online tools, and annual CME accreditation conferences. Providers commend PAMED for supporting physician leadership and offering guidance in a challenging CME environment. Providers also appreciate PAMED staff for their professionalism, accessibility and collaborative approach.

The recipients were given their awards during a ceremony at the ACCME State/Territory Medical Society Conference: A Conference of Leaders, held December 15 - 16, 2010, in Chicago. James Liljestrand, MD, MPH accepted his award. Accepting the award on behalf of the Pennsylvania Medical Society were M. Steven Bortner, Director, Membership and Member Services; and Leslie Howell, Associate Director, Membership and Continuing Medical Education.

"We honor the 2011 recipients of the Rutledge W. Howard, MD Awards, as well as all the nominees, for their dedication to the intrastate accreditation system and to high-quality, community-based continuing medical education," said Murray Kopelow, MD, ACCME Chief Executive. "The intrastate accreditation system provides physicians across the country with access to locally-based continuing medical education that contributes to improving care for patients and their communities. The ACCME is committed to supporting a strong and vital intrastate accreditation system, and to recognizing the system's volunteers and staff for their extraordinary efforts."

About the Rutledge W Howard, MD Awards

The awards are named for Dr. Rutledge W. Howard, who worked with every state, the District of Columbia, and four territories to develop a system for accrediting intrastate CME providers. There are currently approximately 1,500 providers accredited by ACCME-Recognized state or territory medical societies. Each year, these providers offer approximately 50,000 CME activities in communities across the country, drawing more than four million health care practitioner participants. The ACCME established the Dr. Rutledge W. Howard Awards to honor intrastate accreditors for their important role in the national accreditation system.

The ACCME initiated the Rutledge W. Howard, MD Awards in 1997. The criteria have evolved over time to reflect the state medical societies' changing role in the national CME enterprise. A list of previous recipients is included at the end of this news release.

The awards are given in two categories.

Award for Outstanding Collaboration Between Accreditors and Providers: This award honors an ACCME-Recognized Accreditor for achieving an exemplary working relationship with its providers by collaborating on projects, issues, or initiatives.
Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System: This award serves to recognize state staff or volunteers for their service to intrastate accreditation.

The ACCME issues a call for nominations each year.The winners are chosen by the ACCME Board of Directors, based on the applications and nominations received. Only one award is given in each category per year; there may not be an award given every year.

Previous Recipients of the Rutledge W Howard, MD Awards

2007: Carol S. Havens, MD (individual category)
            Oklahoma State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2006: Jane Phillip (individual category)
2005: Florida Medical Association (accreditor category)
2004: Dean Bordeaux, MD, MAEd (individual category)
            Louisiana State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2003: Richard Ashby, MD (individual category)
2002: Jeanette Harmon (individual category)
            Illinois State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2000: Texas Medical Association (accreditor category)
1999: Massachusetts Medical Society (organizational award)
            Minnesota Medical Association (organizational award)
1998: Washington State Medical Association (organizational award)
1997: Arizona Medical Association (organizational award)
           Medical & Chirurgical Faculty of State of Maryland (organizational award)
           Puerto Rico Medical Association (organizational award)


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education is a not-for-profit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting U.S. institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are currently approximately 2,200 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 17 million health care practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the U.S. Inc.

For more information, visit

Contact Info: