Accreditation Council for CME Announces the Recipients of the 2010 Hero Award

ACCME Award Recognizes Volunteerism in Continuing Medical Education
Chicago, IL
August 12, 2010

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) proudly presents the 2010 Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award to the following ACCME volunteers. Their extraordinary commitment and generosity of time and expertise enable the ACCME to fulfill its mission of setting standards for quality continuing medical education (CME) and assuring that accredited CME providers meet those standards.

William W. Greaves, MD, MSPH 
Faculty Member, Department of Population Health
Former Chair, Department of Preventive Medicine
Founding Director, Master of Public Health Degree Program
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

Karen E. Heiser, PhD
Vice President, Designated Institutional Official for Graduate Medical Education
Codirector of the International Scholars Program
Nationwide Children's Hospital
Columbus, OH

The Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD ACCME Hero Award recognizes volunteers who have provided exemplary and long-term service to the ACCME, through service on the Board of Directors, the Accreditation Review Committee, the Committee for Review and Recognition, and the Monitoring Committee, as volunteer surveyors and/or as workshop faculty. The award is named for the late Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, a long-time, dedicated ACCME volunteer. The ACCME believes this award will reflect, honor and serve to memorialize the contributions Dr. Raszkowski made during his extraordinary years of volunteerism and his commitment to excellence in continuing medical education.

A list of previous Hero Award recipients can be found here.


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education is a not-for-profit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting U.S. institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are currently approximately 2,200 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 17 million health care practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the U.S. Inc.

For more information, visit


Contact Info: