Accreditation Council for CME Announces New Appointments to Board of Directors

Debra Perina, MD, and Richard Reiling, MD, Named Chair and Vice Chair of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education
Chicago, IL
December 22, 2009


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) announces that Debra Perina, MD, and Richard Reiling, MD, were named 2010 Chair and Vice Chair of the ACCME at the conclusion of the Board of Directors meeting, held December 3 – 4, 2009, in Chicago.

Dr. Perina is an Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Virginia Health Sciences Center in Charlottesville, Va. She has served on the ACCME’s Executive and Decision Committees.

Dr. Perina serves as President and member of the Board of the American Board of Emergency Medicine, and has previously served as a member of the Residency Review Committee for Emergency Medicine. She is also a member of several medical organizations, including the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors, where she has served as President and member of the Board of Directors; the American College of Emergency Medicine; the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine; and the National Association of EMS Physicians, where she served on its Board of Directors. She is an elected member of the Academy of Distinguished Educators and recipient of the National Faculty Teaching Award, and Excellence in EMS Award Medical Direction 2006 Regional Award.

Richard B. Reiling, MD, FACS, is the Medical Director at the Presbyterian Cancer Center in Charlotte, N.C.   He has served on the ACCME’s Finance Committee.

Dr. Reiling serves as a member of the American Medical Association Council on Medical Education and as the Chair of the American College of Surgeons Delegation to the AMA.  He is the immediate past vice president of the American College of Surgeons and holds faculty positions with Wright State University School of Medicine in Dayton, Ohio, and Duke University in Durham, N.C.  He is a former member and Chair of The Joint Commission’s Professional and Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC) to the Ambulatory Care Accreditation Program.  Dr. Reiling has received numerous awards, including the 2004 Distinguished Service Award from the American College of Surgeons.  

New Board Members Beginning in 2010

The ACCME also announces the election of the following board members:

  • Ellen Cosgrove, MD, Senior Associate Dean for Education, University of New Mexico School of Medicine, Office of Continuing Medical Education, Albuquerque, N.M.
  • Timothy Holder, MD, Accreditation Review Committee Chair, Oklahoma State Medical Association, Muskogee, Okla.
  • James McDeavitt, MD, Senior Vice President of Education and Research, Carolinas Healthcare System, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Darlyne Menscer, MD, Clinical Associate Professor, Carolinas Healthcare System, Charlotte, N.C. 


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education is a not-for-profit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting U.S. institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop and enforce standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are currently approximately 2,500 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 17 million health care practitioner participants annually.
The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the U.S. Inc.

For more information, visit


Contact Info: