Accreditation Council for CME Announces Melvin I. Freeman, MD, as Recipient of the 2012 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award

ACCME award honors state medical society staff and volunteers for their contributions and commitment to the intrastate continuing medical education accreditation system
Chicago, IL
August 28, 2012

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is proud to announce that the 2012 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System has been awarded to Melvin I. Freeman, MD.

The award recognizes Dr. Freeman for his contributions and commitment to advancing community-based continuing medical education (CME) programs and the intrastate accreditation system. Dr. Freeman was nominated for the award by the Washington State Medical Association (WSMA) where he has been a member of the WSMA CME Committee since 1985, serving as vice-chair since 1993. He volunteers as a WSMA surveyor and as a reviewer of accredited providers' annual reports.

Dr. Freeman was a member of the ACCME Accreditation Review Committee from 1998–2003, serving as vice-chair from 2002-2003. He has been an ACCME surveyor since 1996 and has conducted more than 75 surveys. He has served as a member of the ACCME Committee for Review and Recognition since 2007 and has also volunteered as an ACCME recognition surveyor.

Among his many achievements, Dr. Freeman was the physician leader in the development of the CME Networking in the Northwest Conferences and in the development of the Washington State Networking Group. These programs provide education and networking for regional CME providers.

Dr. Freeman will receive his award during a presentation lunch at the ACCME State/Territory Medical Society Conference, scheduled for December 12–13, 2012, in Chicago.

"We honor Dr. Freeman for his exemplary work to support accreditation and quality continuing medical education," said Murray Kopelow, MD, ACCME President and Chief Executive Officer. "The Washington State Medical Association’s accreditation program has benefited from his exceptional service and leadership, evidence that a state medical society’s success as an accreditor relies on strong, active volunteers. The ACCME is committed to supporting a robust and vital intrastate accreditation system, and we are grateful to Dr. Freeman and the other volunteers and staff in the intrastate system for their extraordinary efforts."

For more information about the intrastate CME system, visit the For Accreditors section of the ACCME website.

About the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards

The awards are named for Dr. Rutledge W. Howard, who worked with every state, the District of Columbia, and four territories to develop a system for accrediting intrastate CME providers. There are more than 1,300 providers accredited by ACCME-recognized state or territory medical societies. Each year, these providers offer approximately 45,000 CME activities in communities across the country, drawing more than four million health care practitioner participants. The ACCME established the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards to honor intrastate accreditors for their important role in the national accreditation system.

The ACCME initiated the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, awards in 1997. The criteria have evolved over time to reflect the state medical societies' changing role in the national CME enterprise.

The awards are given in two categories.

• Award for Outstanding Collaboration Between Accreditors and Providers: This award honors an ACCME-Recognized Accreditor for achieving an exemplary working relationship with its providers by collaborating on projects, issues, or initiatives.
• Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System: This award serves to recognize state staff or volunteers for their service to intrastate accreditation.

The ACCME issues a call for nominations each year. The winners are chosen by the ACCME Board of Directors, based on the applications and nominations received. Only one award is given in each category per year; there may not be an award given every year.

Previous Recipients of the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards

2011: Timothy Holder, MD, Oklahoma State Medical Association (individual category)
2010: James Liljestrand, MD, MPH, Massachusetts Medical Society (individual category)
Pennsylvania Medical Society (accreditor category)
2007: Carol S. Havens, MD (individual category)
Oklahoma State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2006: Jane Phillip (individual category)
2005: Florida Medical Association (accreditor category)
2004: Dean Bordeaux, MD, MAEd (individual category)
Louisiana State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2003: Richard Ashby, MD (individual category)
2002: Jeanette Harmon (individual category)
Illinois State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2000: Texas Medical Association (accreditor category)
1999: Massachusetts Medical Society (organizational award)
Minnesota Medical Association (organizational award)
1998: Washington State Medical Association (organizational award)
1997: Arizona Medical Association (organizational award)
Medical & Chirurgical Faculty of State of Maryland (organizational award)
Puerto Rico Medical Association (organizational award)

Media inquiries

Tamar Hosansky


Other inquiries



The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting US institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop, and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are approximately 2,000 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 25 million health care practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.

For more information, visit