Accreditation Council for CME Announces K.M. Tan, MD, as Recipient of the 2013 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award

ACCME award honors state medical society staff and volunteers for their contributions and commitment to the intrastate continuing medical education accreditation system
Chicago, IL
August 27, 2013

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is proud to announce that the 2013 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System has been awarded to K.M. Tan, MD.

The award recognizes Dr. Tan for his contributions and commitment to advancing community-based continuing medical education (CME) programs and the intrastate accreditation system. Dr. Tan was nominated for the award by the Institute for Medical Quality/California Medical Association (IMQ/CMA). Dr. Tan has demonstrated his leadership and dedication to the medical education community for more than three decades. He has served as a mentor to IMQ/CMA staff, committee members, and accredited providers; volunteered for numerous committees; served as an accreditation surveyor; and frequently participated as a faculty member at IMQ/CMA educational conferences for CME providers.

Dr. Tan has served as a member of the IMQ Board of Directors for 17 years, since its founding in 1996; he was Chair from 1997–2003. He has been on the IMQ/CMA Committee on Continuing Medical Education since 1984; he served as Chair from 1986–1992, and currently serves as Chair. In addition, Dr. Tan served as Chair of the Audio Digest Foundation’s CME Committee from 2002–2008. He has been a member of the Kaiser Permanente National CME Committee from 1996 through the present. From 1975–2008, he volunteered as a member of the CME committees at Kaiser Richmond, Kaiser San Rafael, and Kaiser Hayward hospitals. He held the position of Director of Medical Education at Kaiser Richmond Hospital from 1977–1983.

Dr. Tan was a member of the ACCME Accreditation Review Committee from 1993–1998, and a member of the ACCME Committee for Review and Recognition from 1989–1994; serving as Vice-Chair from 1992–1994. He has volunteered as an ACCME accreditation surveyor and recognition surveyor.

Among his many accomplishments, Dr. Tan served on the American Medical Association Advisory Committee on CME from 1994–2000. He regularly presented at national and state conferences for CME professionals.

“It is indeed a great honor for me to receive the Howard award. It is a welcome recognition of a passion of mine since house staff days close to 40 years ago. I have been delighted to have worked with CME issues at the local, state, and national levels. I have had the privilege of meeting Dr. Howard a couple of times in the early years. I would like to thank the ACCME for this wonderful award.”— K.M. Tan, MD, Retired Radiologist, The Permanente Medical Group

“All of us at IMQ are thrilled that Dr. Tan is receiving this richly deserved honor. Dr. Tan has been a true leader, pivotal to the success of our CME Accreditation Program. He has the respect and admiration of the many staff, surveyors, and providers he has mentored throughout the years.”— Jill K. Silverman, MSPH, President & CEO, Institute for Medical Quality

“We honor Dr. Tan for his exemplary work to support accreditation and quality continuing medical education. The Institute for Medical Quality/California Medical Association accreditation program has benefited from his exceptional service and leadership, evidence that a state medical society’s success as an accreditor relies on strong, active volunteers. The ACCME is committed to supporting a robust and vital intrastate accreditation system, and we are grateful to Dr. Tan for his decades-long service and extraordinary dedication."— Murray Kopelow, MD, ACCME President and Chief Executive Officer

For more information about the intrastate CME system, visit the For Accreditors section of the ACCME Web site.

About the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards

The awards are named for Rutledge W. Howard, MD, who worked with every state, the District of Columbia, and four territories to develop a system for accrediting intrastate CME providers. There are approximately 1,300 providers accredited by ACCME Recognized Accreditors (state or territory medical societies that are recognized by the ACCME as accreditors of intrastate CME providers). Each year, intrastate providers offer more than 40,000 CME activities in communities across the country, drawing more than four million health care practitioner participants. The ACCME established the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards to honor Recognized Accreditors for their important role in the national accreditation system.

The ACCME initiated the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, awards in 1997. The criteria have evolved over time to reflect the changing role in the national CME enterprise.

The awards are given in two categories.

• Award for Outstanding Collaboration between Accreditors and Providers: This award honors an ACCME Recognized Accreditor for achieving an exemplary working relationship with its providers by collaborating on projects, issues, or initiatives.
• Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System: This award serves to recognize state staff or volunteers for their service to intrastate accreditation.

The ACCME issues a call for nominations each year. The winners are chosen by the ACCME Board of Directors, based on the applications and nominations received. Only one award is given in each category per year; there may not be an award given every year.

Previous Recipients of the Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards

2012: Melvin I Freeman, MD, Washington State Medical Association (individual category)
2011: Timothy Holder, MD, Oklahoma State Medical Association (individual category)
2010: James Liljestrand, MD, MPH, Massachusetts Medical Society (individual category)
Pennsylvania Medical Society (accreditor category)
2007: Carol S. Havens, MD (individual category)
Oklahoma State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2006: Jane Phillip (individual category)
2005: Florida Medical Association (accreditor category)
2004: Dean Bordeaux, MD, MAEd (individual category)
Louisiana State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2003: Richard Ashby, MD (individual category)
2002: Jeanette Harmon (individual category)
Illinois State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2000: Texas Medical Association (accreditor category)
1999: Massachusetts Medical Society (organizational award)
Minnesota Medical Association (organizational award)
1998: Washington State Medical Association (organizational award)
1997: Arizona Medical Association (organizational award)
Medical & Chirurgical Faculty of State of Maryland (organizational award)
Puerto Rico Medical Association (organizational award)


Media inquiries
Tamar Hosansky

Other inquiries



The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting US institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop, and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are approximately 2,000 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 24 million health care practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.

For more information, visit