Accreditation Council for CME Announces Elections to Board of Directors

Richard Reiling, MD, and Sandra Norris, MBA, Named Chair and Vice-Chair of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education
Chicago, IL
December 1, 2010

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) announces that Richard Reiling, MD, and Sandra Norris, MBA, were named 2011 Chair and Vice-Chair of the ACCME at the conclusion of its Board of Directors meeting, held November 17-19, 2010, in Chicago.

Richard Reiling, MD, is the Medical Director at the Presbyterian Cancer Center in Charlotte, NC. He has served on the ACCME’s Executive Committee; Finance Committee; Compensation Committee; and Nominating, Elections & Awards Committee; and chaired its Board Policies and Practices Task Force.

Dr. Reiling serves as a member of the American Medical Association Council on Medical Education and Delegate of the American College of Surgeons to the AMA. He is a former member and Vice-Chair of The Joint Commission's Professional and Technical Advisory Committee/Ambulatory Care Accreditation Program. Dr. Reiling received the 2004 Distinguished Service Award from the American College of Surgeons. He is Clinical Professor of Surgery at the Wright State University School of Medicine and on the surgical faculty of Duke University.

Sandra Norris, MBA, is the Administrative Director for Medical Education and Medical Staff Services at the Swedish Health System in Seattle, WA.  She has served on the ACCME’s Quality Improvement Committee and its Executive Committee, as well as chairing its PRA and Activity Requirements Task Force.

Ms. Norris serves as a member of the Council for CME of the Association for Hospital Medical Education (AHME), as a member of the Executive Committee of AHME’s Council for CME, and as a Region VI Representative to AHME’s Board of Directors. She served on the ACCME’s Accreditation Review Committee for six years. 

New Board Members

The ACCME also announces the election of the following Board members.

  • Carlyle H. Chan, MD, Professor and Vice-Chair for Professional Development and Educational Outreach, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI.
  • David W. Price, MD, Director of Education and Clinician Researcher, Colorado Permanente Medical Group, Denver, CO.


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education is a not-for-profit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting U.S. institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are currently approximately 2,200 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 17 million health care practitioner participants annually. 

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the U.S. Inc.

For more information, visit


Contact Info: