Accreditation Council for CME Announces Election of 2016 Chair and Vice Chair of Board of Directors

Victor I. Reus, MD, and Todd Dorman, MD, Elected ACCME Chair and Vice Chair
Chicago, IL
December 7, 2015

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) announces that Victor I. Reus, MD, and Todd Dorman, MD, were elected 2016 Chair and Vice Chair of the ACCME.

Dr. Reus is Professor of Psychiatry at the University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine, and former Director and Vice Chair of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, as well as former Chair of the Residency Review Committee for Psychiatry of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). He currently chairs the Treatment Guideline Writing Committee of the American Psychiatric Association, as well as the Committee on Human Research for the University of California, San Francisco on the Parnassus campus. In 2009, he was awarded the American Psychiatric Association/National Institute of Mental Health Vestermark Psychiatry Educator Award for his contributions to psychiatric education and physician evaluation.

Dr. Dorman is Board Certified in Internal Medicine and Anesthesiology and holds a Certificate of Special Qualifications in Critical Care Medicine. He is the Senior Associate Dean for Education Coordination and the Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education for the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.  He is a Professor and Vice Chair for Critical Care in the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine and has joint appointments in Internal Medicine, Surgery, and The School of Nursing. He has an extensive background in association leadership and has served as the President of the American Society for Critical Care Anesthesiologists (ASCCA) and President of the Society for Academic CME (SACME), and is presently the President-elect of the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM). Dr. Dorman has lectured extensively on the value of CME. He has also delivered keynote and plenary lectures on leadership and helped establish the inaugural Summer Leadership Institute for SACME. Dr. Dorman was co-PI on the grant that led to the seminal work on the effectiveness of CME, and won the Fox Award from SACME for his research.

Media inquiries
Tamar Hosansky

Other inquiries


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting institutions that offer continuing medical education (CME) through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop, and promote standards for quality CME that improves healthcare for patients and their communities. There are approximately 2,000 accredited CME providers within the ACCME accreditation system, whose activities educate more than 24 million healthcare practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations—which represent the profession of medicine and include physician licensing and credentialing bodies—are the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies, and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.

For more information, visit