Accreditation Council for CME Announces Call for Nominations for Rutledge W. Howard, MD Awards

ACCME award honors state medical societies for their contributions to community-based continuing medical education
Chicago, IL
June 14, 2010


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is proud to announce the call for nominations for the 2010 Rutledge W. Howard, MD Awards. Given in two categories, these awards recognize state medical societies, their staff and volunteers for their contributions and commitment to advancing community-based continuing medical education (CME) programs and the intrastate accreditation system.

The awards are named for Dr. Rutledge W. Howard, who worked with every state, the District of Columbia, and four territories to develop a system for accrediting intrastate CME providers. There are currently more than 1,500 providers accredited by ACCME-Recognized state or territory medical societies. Each year, these providers offer approximately 50,000 CME activities in communities across the country, drawing more than four million health care practitioner participants. The ACCME established the Dr. Rutledge W. Howard Awards to honor intrastate accreditors for their important role in the national accreditation system.

The ACCME initiated the Rutledge W. Howard, MD Awards in 1997. The criteria have evolved over time to reflect the state medical societies' changing role in the national CME enterprise. A list of previous recipients is included at the end of this news release.

The awards are given in two categories.

  • Award for Outstanding Collaboration Between Accreditors and Providers: This award honors an ACCME-Recognized accreditor for achieving an exemplary working relationship with its providers by collaborating on projects, issues, or initiatives.
  • Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System: This award serves to recognize state staff or volunteers for their service to intrastate accreditation.

The deadline for submissions is September 3, 2010. For more information, download the submission guidelines

Previous Award Recipients

2007: Carol S. Havens, MD (individual category) 
           Oklahoma State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2006: Jane Phillip (individual category)
2005: Florida Medical Association (accreditor category)
2004: Dean Bordeaux, MD, MAEd (individual category)
           Louisiana State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2003: Richard Ashby, MD (individual category)
2002: Jeanette Harmon (individual category)
           Illinois State Medical Society (accreditor category)
2000: Texas Medical Association (accreditor category)
1999: Massachusetts Medical Society (organizational award)
           Minnesota Medical Association (organizational award)
1998: Washington State Medical Association (organizational award)
1997: Arizona Medical Association (organizational award)
           Medical & Chirurgical Faculty of State of Maryland (organizational award)
           Puerto Rico Medical Association (organizational award)


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education is a not-for-profit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting U.S. institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are currently approximately 2,200 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 17 million health care practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the U.S. Inc.

For more information, visit


Contact Info: