ACCME Announces the Recipients of the 2011 Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award

ACCME Award Recognizes Volunteerism in Continuing Medical Education
Chicago, IL
January 12, 2012

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) proudly presents the 2011 Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award to the following ACCME volunteers. Their extraordinary commitment and generosity of time and expertise enable the ACCME to fulfill its mission of setting standards for quality continuing medical education (CME) and assuring that accredited CME providers meet those standards.

Alejandro Aparicio, MD, FACP
Director, Division of Continuing Physician Professional Development
American Medical Association, Chicago, IL

Clifford Gevirtz, MD, MPH
Medical Director, Somnia Pain Management
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Louisiana State University
Harrison, NY

Stuart C. Gilman, MD, MPH
Director, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development
Director, Educational Centers of Excellence in Primary Care
Office of Academic Affiliations, Veterans Health Administration
Washington, DC

D. Theresa Kanya, MBA
Vice President, Medical Education
American College of Physicians, Philadelphia, PA

The Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award recognizes volunteers who have provided exemplary and long-term service to the ACCME, through service on the Board of Directors, the Accreditation Review Committee, the Committee for Review and Recognition, and the Monitoring Committee, as volunteer surveyors and/or as workshop faculty. The award is named for the late Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, a long-time, dedicated ACCME volunteer. The ACCME believes this award will reflect, honor, and serve to memorialize the contributions Dr. Raszkowski made during his extraordinary years of volunteerism and his commitment to excellence in continuing medical education.

A list of previous Hero Award recipients can be found here.

Comments from 2011 Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award Recipients

"I thank the Board of Directors and staff of the ACCME for this award. It is a high honor to receive an award associated with Bob's name. I was fortunate enough to meet and work with him, including conducting some site surveys, before his untimely death. That makes the award very meaningful to me. In addition, to receive it along with two good friends and former colleagues from my years on the Accreditation Review Committee of the ACCME, D. Theresa Kanya, MBA; and Stuart C. Gilman, MD, MPH, makes it ever more special."—Alejandro Aparicio, MD, FACP.

“I am indeed grateful for this honor from the ACCME. Working with the CME community is unique due to its “open source” nature and the surveys have been a rewarding experience, as I have learned new approaches in education, with each and every one. I also have to say that the ACCME staff and leadership are brilliant and always available for advice. Working with the ACCME inspires in me the Latin word Meliora, 'for the pursuit of the better.' Thank you again and onward to the next survey!”—Clifford Gevirtz, MD, MPH.

“It is a great honor to receive this recognition from the ACCME. I have always considered it a privilege to contribute to the ACCME’s mission as I personally respect the ACCME’s values of advancing quality and integrity of continuing medical education, and clearly relate these goals to the Department of Veterans Affairs’ mission to provide health professions education to benefit the VA and the nation. It is a particularly poignant privilege to receive recognition honoring Dr. Robert Razskowski. My earliest engagement with ACCME was on a VA/ACCME accreditation project that had me working closely with Dr. Razskowski for several years. My professional path would have been very different without Bob’s kind wisdom and his exacting standards. I am among many others in this field who miss Bob. It is humbling to receive an award remembering Bob and his contributions.”—Stuart C. Gilman, MD, MPH

"My sincerest thanks to the ACCME for choosing me to receive the prestigious Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award. I'm deeply moved and honored by such recognition, especially from an organization and staff I've always admired and whose important contributions to continuing medical education are unsurpassed."—D. Theresa Kanya, MBA


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting US institutions that offer continuing medical education through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop, and promote standards for quality continuing medical education that improves health care for patients and their communities. There are approximately 2,200 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 23 million health care practitioner participants annually.

The ACCME's member organizations include the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States.

For more information, visit