Executive Summary of November 2012 ACCME Board of Directors Meeting Now Available

January 22, 2013
Posted by: 
Tamar Hosansky

Accreditation and Joint Accreditation Decisions, Board Elections

The Accreditation Council for CME has released the executive summary of its Board of Directors meeting, held November 29–30, 2012 at its Chicago offices. The Board ratified 54 accreditation and reaccreditation decisions, including 14 providers (26%) that received Accreditation with Commendation. The list of accredited providers on our Web site has been updated to reflect the November 2012 accreditation decisions.

The ACCME ratified decisions for two providers receiving joint accreditation: Creative Educational Concepts, LLC; and Duke University Health System. The decisions have also been ratified by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). The joint accreditation process, launched in 2009 by the ACCME, the ACPE, and the ANCC, seeks to reward organizations for offering team-focused education that improves patient care.

As we previously announced, the Board elected James Burke, MD, and Carlyle H. Chan, MD, 2013 Chair and Vice-Chair of the ACCME, and also elected the following new Board members: Shannon K. Bolon, MD, MPH; Galicano F. Inguito, Jr., MD, MBA; Victor I. Reus, MD; Michael Romano, MD, MHA; and David A. Swankin, JD. Read a news release about the Board elections.

Download the executive summary.