ACCME Releases December 2011 Board of Directors Meeting Executive Summary

January 23, 2012
Posted by: 
Tamar Hosansky

The Accreditation Council for CME has released the executive summary of its Board of Directors meeting, held December 1–2, 2011, at its Chicago offices. Several of the Board’s decisions are explained in more detail in the news items below.

As was previously announced, the Board named Sandra Norris, MBA, and James Burke, MD, as 2012 Chair and Vice-Chair of the ACCME and also elected the following Board members: Todd Dorman, MD; Mira Irons, MD; David Pieper, PhD; and Carol Havens, MD. Read more.

The ACCME is only successful in its mission because of its dedicated volunteers. During the meeting, the Board had the privilege of paying special tribute to those who have demonstrated exemplary and long-term service to the ACCME. Read about the Service Awards in the executive summary.

The Board ratified 54 accreditation and reaccreditation decisions, including 20 providers (37%) that received Accreditation with Commendation. The ACCME has now completed accreditation reviews for 567 accredited providers using the 2006 Accreditation Criteria. The list of accredited providers on our Web site was updated on January 16 to reflect the December 2011 accreditation decisions.

Related Information
How the ACCME Makes Decisions
Your Decision Report
Executive Summaries