2015 ACCME State/Territory Medical Society Conference Focuses on Innovation, Collaboration

January 29, 2016
Posted by: 
Tamar Hosansky

ACCME and Recognized Accreditors Discuss Driving Innovation in CME

The 2015 ACCME State/Territory Medical Society Conference, Promoting Innovation in Accreditation and Continuing Medical Education,” held December 9-10 in Chicago, brought together leadership, staff, and volunteers from Recognized Accreditors from across the country. In addition, participants included guests from the ACCME Board of DirectorsCommittee for Review and Recognition, the American Medical Association (AMA), and the University of San Francisco School of Medicine (UCSF). The conference was the culmination of a year of engagement and collaboration between the ACCME and Recognized Accreditors (state/territory medical societies recognized by the ACCME as accreditors of intrastate CME providers).

Here are a few of the highlights:

  • Graham McMahon, MD, MMSc, President and CEO, ACCME; and Susan Skochelak, MD, MPH, Group Vice President, Medical Education, American Medical Association, co-facilitated a session describing the two organizations’ ongoing collaborative efforts to align the credit and accreditation systems to better support CME providers and physician learners. Participants discussed their perspectives and suggestions for how the two systems should evolve and align.
  • Dr. McMahon; Steve Singer, PhD, Vice President for Education and Outreach; and Tymothi Peters, Director of the Office of CME, UCSF School of Medicine, led a workshop for promoting innovation and creativity in education, where participants explored strategies and developed action plans for driving innovation in CME in their states.
  • The conference included the presentation of the 2015 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Awards. Given in two categories, this ACCME award recognizes state medical societies, their staff, and volunteers for their contributions and commitment to advancing community-based CME programs and the intrastate accreditation system. The 2015 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditation System was given to Henry Tulgan, MD, FACP. The 2015 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Outstanding Collaboration between Accreditors and Providers was given to the Indiana State Medical Association. Read more about the recipients in our news release.

Throughout the year, the ACCME offers a range of educational, outreach, and support services to Recognized Accreditors, including monthly webinars and the annual conference. In 2015, ACCME staff participated in the local professional development activities at Recognized Accreditor events in 18 states.