FAQ Search

What is the ABA’s MOCA 2.0 Part 2 requirement?

The ABA’s MOCA 2.0 Part 2 requirement is 250 credits of CME activities over a 10-year cycle that meet the following criteria:

  • All credits must be Category 1 CME activities:
    • ACCME/AMA PRA-approved
    • American Osteopathic Association Category 1-A
    • Accredited CPD credits issued by the Royal College of Physicians of Canada and the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada
  • No more than 70 credits per calendar year (completed between 2006 and 2012) will be credited toward the requirement.
  • No more than 60 credits per calendar year (completed in or after 2013) will be credited toward the requirement.
  • At least 20 credits of ABA-approved Patient Safety CME.

Self-Assessment CMEs are no longer required. Diplomates who previously completed Self-Assessment CMEs will receive credit for them in MOCA 2.0, as will diplomates who complete Self-Assessment CMEs in the future.